

The Conference Cup for the Bertie Joel Trophy - Final 2019 Blackheath CC, Sunday 15th September

Bexley CC Cambridge CC (not in batting order) Adam Riley ' Lewys Hill ' Matthew Stiddard + Michael Turner + Adam Ball Sacha James Abbasi Calum Basey Johnny Atkinson Jack Bell Henry Campbell Jason Benn Evan Hill **David Crawley** Jake Lawrence Shaun Evans Kieren Mackenzie Freddie Foster **Douglas Rice** George Haley Alex Thomas Jaskaran Singh John Turner

Umpires: Matti Watton & Paul Witney Scorers: Fred White & Chris Wilson

'The Road to Blackheath'

Bexley victories: Cambridge victories:

Round 1 Bye (seeded) Bye (seeded)

Round 2 v Upminster: by 141 runs Finchley conceded Bexley 238/3. Calum Basey 105*,

Calum MacLeod 72, Matt Cross 42

David Crawley 3/25

Round 3 v Shenfield: by 4 wkts chasing 150 v Reigate Priory: by 7 wkts chasing 145 (40 overs)

David Cawley 3/28. Shaun Evans 40* Johnny Atkinson 71

Quarter Final v Crouch End: by 6 wkts chasing 206 v Stanmore: by 7 wkts chasing 106

Matthew Stiddard 62, Adam Ball 71* Kieren Mackenzie 5/27, Lewys Hill 3/7

Sacha James Abbasi 45, Daminda Rananweera 45*

Semi Final v Acton: by 7 wkts chasing 106 (25 overs) v East Molesey: by 6 wkts chasing 141

Adam Riley 44*, Shaun Evans 30 Lewys Hill 4/22

Douglas Rice 52*, Peter Younghusband 47*

This is the third year of this competition run by the Club Cricket Conference. 2018 Runners-Up Bexley, return to try and get their name on the cup.

In 2009 The Conference Cup was the successor to the Evening Standard Challenge Trophy, which originated in 1992. Winners of the Evening Standard Challenge Trophy were Finchley (4), Teddington (3), Ealing (3), Brondesbury (2), and once each for Bromley, Radlett, High Wycombe, and Malden Wanderers. Winners of The Conference Cup were, Finchley, Wanstead, Lordswood, Valley End, Waltham, and Reigate Priory. There was no competition in 2015 & 2016.

The Bertie Joel Cup, originally known as the Kemps Cup, was created by Joel . one of London crickets legendary characters in 1967 as a midweek, 45-overs knockout competition.

Winners of the Bertie Joel Cup were Bishop's Stortford (5), Waltham (5), Cambridge Granta (4), Hampstead (4), Wimbledon (4), Forest Hill (3), Sutton (3), Basingstoke & North Hants (2), Shenfield (2), The Mote (2), and once each for Indian Gymkhana, Vauxhall Motors, Blackheath, Hastings & St Leonards Priory, Southgate, Ickenham, North Middlesex, Finchley, Saffron Walden, Eastcote, British Airways, Lambeth Enterprise, South Woodford, BWIA Cavaliers, Malden Wanderers, and West Indies United

- Evidence of a truly remarkable competition.

The cup itself, 'lives on' in this 'new' competition.

So after today, there will be a new name on the cup