Club Cricket Conference

Friday, 20th July 2018

The Conference Cup is back !!

12 January 2017

The CCC Board, together with the organisers of the Bertie Joel Cup, have decided to re-instate The Conference Cup, in a competition now to be known as "The Conference Cup for the Bertie Joel Trophy".

This exciting partnership brings together the CCC's unrivalled access to clubs throughout the south of England, with the unique heritage of the Bertie Joel competition.

The Conference Cup was launched in 2009 when the firmly established Evening Standard Challenge Trophy lost its sponsors. Despite minimal funding, the time and effort put in by organisers and club secretaries alike generated some excellent cricket, well supported by a solid number of clubs in the M25 region. The 2014 winners Reigate Priory CC, had entered for the first time.
Worrying statistics prompted the suspension of The Conference Cup competition for a year in 2015 to allow further consultation after an unprecedented number of first-round conceded matches, and a planned re-introduction in 2016 was shelved after entry notices to clubs were too late for a sufficient number of clubs to enter.

Bertie Joel, who was one of the great characters of London cricket, founded the cup that bears his name in 1967. Since his death in 1996, the competition has been run successfully by a small committee. In 2016, the Bertie Joel Cup celebrated its 50th anniversary with a showpiece final between Wanstead CC and West Indies United CC, held at Sutton CC.

Our partnership enables the history of the Bertie Joel Cup, and indeed the beautiful trophy itself, to live on within our region's cricket circles.

40 clubs have entered the 'new' competition for 2017.

CCC Chairman, Robbie Book, and CCC President, Bob McLeod, made the draws for Rounds 1 and 2, on Thursday 12 January 2017.

Round 1, to be played on or before 28 May (Home team first):
1. Acton v South Hampstead
2. Hoddesdon v Pacific
3. Old Wimbledonians v Bickley Park
4. Aston Rowant v Hatfield Hyde
5. Indian Gymkhana v Old Southendian & Southchurch
6. Fives & Heronians v Middlesex Tamil Sports & Social Club
7. Old Rutlishians v Paragon
8. Beaconsfield v Waltham

Round 2, to be played on or before 18 June (Home team first):
1. Colchester & East Essex v West Indies United
2. Radlett v Chingford
3. Reigate Priory v Acton or South Hampstead
4. Hoddesdon or Pacific v Ealing
5. Stanmore v Brentwood
6. Sawbridgeworth v Bexley
7. Sunbury v Hornchurch
8. Finchley v Bishop's Stortford
9. Beaconsfield or Waltham v Fives & Heronians or MTSSC
10. Aston Rowant or Hatfield Hyde v Harold Wood
11. Shenfield v Bromley
12. Wanstead v East Molesey
13. Old Wimbledonians or Bickley Park v Harpenden
14. Cambridge Granta v Valley End
15. Blackheath v Ashtead
16. Indian Gymkhana or Old Southendians & Southchurch v Old Rutlishians or Paragon

Subsequent draws are similar to the FA Cup, hence winners do not know their next opponents, or whether drawn home or away, until the draw for the next round is made.

Round 3 to be played on or before 9 July
Quarter Finals to be played on or before 30 July
Semi Finals to be played on or before 20 August

Final to be played at a venue tba on Sunday 3 September